Former ITP Chair, Red Burns, honored at 15th Annual Webby Awards Gala

The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences will present Red Burns with a Webby Special Achievement Webby Award at the 15th Annual Webby Awards Gala on the evening of June 13th, 2011 in New York City at Hammerstein Ballroom.
The Webby Awards will honor Red with a Special Achievement award in recognition of her influential role as the founder of the Interactive Telecommunications Program at New York University. A pioneer in the interactive media world, she continues to raise the bar as a researcher by uniting the worlds of science and art. As an educator, her commitment to fostering young minds continues to pave the way for today’s thriving media and technology industries. A true visionary, her illustrious career and commitment to innovation and education is deserving of celebration.

As a Webby Award winner, she will join a prestigious group of innovators on-hand to receive their award, and an elite group of visionaries who have received Webby Awards over the past fourteen years.  Last year’s attending honorees included OK GO, Amy Poehler, Vint Cerf, Roger Ebert, Andrey Ternovskiy, PS22 Chorus and Zach Galafianakis.  Other past honorees include Al Gore, Prince,, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Biz Stone, Trent Reznor, Sarah Silverman, Jimmy Fallon, Seth McFarlane, Lisa Kudrow, Stephen Colbert, Beastie Boys, David Bowie, Meg Whitman, David Byrne, and YouTube co-founders Steve Chen and Chad Hurley.

The 15th Annual Webby Awards will be showcased via a state-of-the-art, interactive, high-definition live streaming experience that takes full advantage of social media and multiple stream integrations.  About 10 million viewers are anticipated, who will have the ability to share in-progress highlights, interact on multiple screens using custom-developed mobile phone and tablet apps, and experience a tricked-out video stream that provides not just a front row seat to the ceremony, but also the ability to participate and shape the event as it unfolds.

Hailed as the “The Internet’s Highest Honor” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and the mobile Web. Our judging Academy, who selects our honorees, includes leading experts in a diverse range of fields, such as Virgin Group Founder Richard Branson, Martha Stewart, film mogul Harvey Weinstein, Showtime chief Matt Blank and “Simpsons” creator Matt Groening.

The event generates worldwide media coverage, including CNN, BBC, MSNBC and many others; you can see clips at:

Here is a short video of her acceptance, presented to her by ITP Alumnus, Dennis Crowley, co-founder of Foursquare.

Thursday, June 9th, 2011
admin | Featured,Press,Uncategorized