Tweets in Space

Friday September 21, 2012

8:30 – 9:00 PM Mountain Time

7:30-8PM PST; 9:30-10PM CST; 10:30-11PM EST

Tweets in Space beams Twitter discussions from participants worldwide towards GJ667Cc – an exoplanet 22 light years away that might support extraterrestrial life. Simply add #tweetsinspace to your texts during performance time. We will collect your tweets and transmit them into deep space via a high-powered radio messaging system. Our soon-to-be alien friends will receive unmediated thoughts and responses about politics, philosophy, pop culture, dinner, dancing cats and everything in between. By engaging the millions of voices in the Twitterverse and dispatching them into the larger Universe, Tweets in Space activates a potent conversation about communication and life that traverses beyond our borders or understanding.

- – - a project by Scott Kildall and Nathaniel Stern

Participate via our web site at tweetsinspace.org, on Twitter.com, or with apps like Twitter, Tweetdeck or Hootsuite. The whole event – the good, the bad, and the provocative, the proclamations, the responses, and the commentary – will be transmitted well beyond Earth’s orbit.
Anyone with a web connection can take part! Viewers at the Balloon Museum in Albuquerque, New Mexico will additionally watch custom, domed projections that animate live streams of tweets, ships and comets in the stars, as part of the International Symposium on Electronic Art (ISEA 2012).
Tuesday, September 18th, 2012
mly2 | Alumni News,Exhibitions