4 Seasons of Sanyu

Four stages of Sanyu, the Chinese Van Gogh's frustrated life

Haoyu Ding



This project mainly shows four stages during the life of Sanyu, with “four seasons” as a metaphor. For those who may never hear about this name, Sanyu is kinda like a Chinese Van Gogh, who spent most of his life in poor and unappreciated condition, but still left lots of art pieces that have been given high credit to by posterity. The main purpose of this project is to share an experience from Sanyu’s life with the users. When you’re watching those paintings of his, you would also listen to audios that uncover his life and thus have a better understanding of his personality and what he’s undergone.

IMA/IMB Shanghai
Communications Lab