Empathetic Toys

These toys are designed to help children process their emotions.

Sarah Armstrong



I created a series of soft toys that represent the six basic emotions: happiness, sadness, fear, disgust, anger, and surprise. I made each one a different color, face, and pose to represent this emotion. Doing this, I made sure that the emotions are very distinct from each other. For packaging, I included a simple explanation of each emotion, so children will get a better understanding of how to express what they’re feeling. My ideal user for this project is children between the ages of 3-7 because these ages are key in social development. With these toys, I want to make sure children are able to express themselves and understand how others are feeling because of their understanding of the emotion.

IMA/IMB Shanghai
Toy Design and Prototyping
Education,Product Design